Only Rage

January 12, 2009

I step over the fence
and into the arena
she always keeps me
to one of her sides
and never once
does she face me directly.

Shortly the circling begins
and then cautiously
with much resistance
one eye on the other
we move closer
to begin the battle.

This is a private show
with no audience,
applause or scold
one hand on my sword
the other on her mane
we circle faster.

My grip is stronger
than her iron will
and as her back leaps
her legs kick
I raise my sword
and finish it fast.

I kneel at her body
and in the warmth
of the sun
my vision blurs
no sense of victory or defeat
only rage.

There are many ways
to write a song.

Leave a Reply

